Skip to main content

Department of Theatre 2024

Department Honors for Undergraduate Theses

Riley Glick
Blood Orange Accounts: Process and Practice

Lila Marooney
The Very Big and the Very Small: A Revision of Directorial Praxis

Max Reichek
Just Good Friends: A Play of Language, Love, and Same-Sex Relationships in the 1800s

Maelea Tan
Grief UnMasked

Departmental Excellence Award for Undergraduate Students

Recognizes selected students from all four undergraduate classes with strong academic records and outstanding records in theatre production and design


  • Agnes Bijole-Himes
  • Diane Li
  • Zakariah Hany Massoud
  • Anna Patel


  • Nastia Goddard
  • Theo Gyra
  • Lily Ramras


  • Ethan Karas
  • Leo Kurland
  • Esteban Ortiz-Villacorta Aguirre
  • Ella Stevens


  • Matheus Barbee
  • Claire Guthrie
  • Adelina Marinello
  • Carter Popkin

Theatre Departmental Award for Excellence in Leadership and Service

For leadership and service to the theatre department

  • Frances McKittrick
  • Elise Pakiela
  • Eric Powers

Aurand Harris Award

Awarded to honor excellence in children’s theatre; established in 1998 to honor the late Aurand Harris (C39), who became the most decorated and produced children’s playwright in America

  • Isadora Coco Gonzalez

Agnes Nixon Playwriting Awards

Provides a cash award and a production to winners of the annual playwriting competition, underwritten by a trust fund established to help playwrights by Northwestern alumna Agnes Nixon, an extremely prolific television writer who created or served as head writer for numerous daytime serials

  • Alena Haney
  • Mantra Radhakrishnan
  • Alondra Rios

Norrenbrock Design Award

Created to commemorate the life and work of Tony Norrenbrock, who died in 1989 and who, though his period of service with the theatre department was relatively brief, inspired countless students with his creativity and love of his craft

  • Hannah Clark

Susan Rae Anderson Vetrono and Clarke J. Vetrono Scholarship

Presented to an outstanding theatre student with an interest in children’s theatre

  • Natalie Tangeman

Winifred Ward Award

Presented by Zeta Phi Eta to a student interested in creative dramatics; honors the memory of Winifred Ward, a School of Communication faculty member from 1918 to 1950, who cofounded one of the first US children’s theatres and made creative dramatics a new discipline in American education

  • Mattea Muench

John Woodbridge Williams Memorial Scholarship

Awarded to a talented design program graduate student, preferably a lighting designer; established in 1994 by family, friends, and colleagues of John Woodbridge Williams—a theatre professor from 1974 to 1992, talented lighting designer, gifted and inspiring teacher, and giving humanitarian—to honor his life and work

  • Regina Harris