Skip to main content

Department of Performance Studies 2023

Departmental Book Award

Presented to majors who over the academic year or over the course of their time in the department have demonstrated an extraordinary commitment to performance practice and scholarship

  • Shai Bardin
  • Craig Carroll
  • Emil Lee
  • Lucy London
  • Chantel McCrea
  • Olivia Pierce
  • Sophie Schaeffer
  • Mya Vandegrift
  • Samantha Webster
  • Elyse Yun

Department Honors for Undergraduate Theses

  • Lucy London
    A Pipeline Flows Both Ways: Contradictions of an Activist Trajectory

Robert S. and Gertrude B. Breen Memorial Award

This award honors the memory of Robert S. Breen, professor emeritus of performance studies, who died in 1991, and his wife Gertrude B. Breen, who died in 1992. Professor Breen obtained his bachelors masters and doctoral degrees from the School of Communication and served the faculty for more than three decades, from 1947-1978. Gertrude Breen obtained her bachelor’s degree from the school of Communication and was closely linked to the University throughout her life.

  • Jennifer Ligaya Senecal

Dwight Conquergood Award for Excellence in Performance Pedagogy

Presented to a graduate student in performance studies who best upholds Conquergood’s commitment to critically engaged pedagogy

  • Jonathan Magat

Frank J. Galati Prize for Undergraduate Essays in Performance Studies

Recognizes excellence in an undergraduate essay; celebrates the contributions of Frank Galati, who retired from the performance studies department in 2006 after more than three decades of teaching

  • Olivia Pierce

Lilla A. Heston Award for Academic Excellence

Presented to a graduate student in performance studies; established in 1984 by Mrs. Chester L. Heston in memory of her daughter, Lilla Heston, an exemplary Northwestern student who became a highly respected and much-loved faculty member and chaired the department from 1979 until her death in 1984

  • Natalia Molebatsi

James L. Lardner Memorial Award

Presented to an undergraduate for achievement in extracurricular activities; honors James Lardner, a practitioner of the “golden style of oratory,” who gave frequent readings and served the school from 1909 until his retirement in 1941

  • Olivia Pierce

Martha Lavey Prize

Designated for outstanding upperclassmen in the Department of Performance Studies. The award is named in honor of SoC alumna Martha Lavey (Comm ’79, ’86, ’94 H ’10), former artistic director and ensemble member of the Steppenwolf Theatre and longtime advocate of young playwrights, artists and community outreach

  • Craig Carroll

Charlotte Lee Award

Presented to recognize academic merit and excellence in performance; honors Charlotte Lee, a gifted interpreter of poetry, who became an instructor in interpretation at the school in 1945, founded an annual interpretation workshop, and made great contributions through her interaction with students

  • Samantha Webster