Skip to main content

Department of Communication Studies 2023

Departmental Excellence Award for Undergraduate Students

Presented to recognize exemplary academic performance, distinctive contributions to the department, and shining representation of the School of Communication

  • Kalista Cao
  • Isabelle Chin
  • Jia Sin Chu
  • Artemasia Cooks
  • Kay Cui
  • Andrew Daniels
  • Anoushka Dasgupta
  • Sebastian della Cava
  • Jayant Gokhale
  • Allison Gould
  • Jiyoon Ha
  • Josh Hong
  • Elisa Huang
  • Evelyn Jenkins
  • Sam Jenkins
  • Sydney Johnson
  • Lucy C. Jung
  • Daniel Kobrinsky
  • Matilda Le
  • Kylie Lin
  • Margot Present
  • Mia Rhee
  • Leticia Sukman Demello
  • Nina Zhang

Donald H. and Carolyn E. Ecroyd Fellowship

Awarded to assist graduate students by supporting the completion of their doctoral dissertations; established in 1993 to honor the late Caroline D. Ecroyd, a School of Communication alumna who was unable to complete her PhD in communication at Northwestern because of lack of funds and who with her husband spent many years as a university faculty member in speech

  • Annika  Pinch

Irving J. and Laura Lee Fellowship

Established in 1987 by David Lee to honor and perpetuate the memory of his parents, who met at Northwestern as students and both became School of Communication faculty members — Irving specializing in public speaking and semantics, Laura in children’s language development and disorders

  • Ryan Bince

Graduate Dissertation Awards

Presented to recognize dissertations of exceptional quality in three areas: rhetoric, mass communication, and interpersonal communication

  • Sarah Katherine Lingo
  • Joshua-Paul Miles
  • Nicholas Vincent

Mary Peterson Gilbert Prize

Awarded annually for excellence in speaking; established in 1955 by the husband of School of Communication alumna Mary Peterson Gilbert, who was praised by school founder Robert Cumnock as one of the most gifted readers in the country

  • Rand Meyer

George M. Sargent Awards

Presented to the first-year, second-year, junior, and senior students with the best records in their regular course of study; honors the memory of George M. Sargent, a member of the class of 1915


  • Enzo Banal
  • Erin Jeon


  • Annika Anandsongkit
  • Lena Grace Huang


  • Jessica Cheng
  • Julia McMurray


  • Hannah Hachamovitch
  • Kate Xintong Lee
  • Hannah Yang