Skip to main content

Department of Communication Studies 2022

Departmental Excellence Award for Undergraduate Students

Presented to recognize exemplary academic performance, distinctive contributions to the department, and shining representation of the School of Communication

  • Annika  Anandsongkit
  • Seun Ayeni
  • Alison Casler
  • Edwin Chalas
  • Ruby Chao
  • Julia Chu
  • Kayla  Cohen
  • Amber Cohon
  • Karen Cui
  • Andrew Daniels
  • Aniela Feinberg
  • Grace Fisher
  • Jenna Ginsburg
  • Amy  Guo
  • Lena Huang
  • Evelyn Jenkins
  • Sophie  Kim
  • Leslie Kim
  • Lucia  Koo
  • Janna Lee
  • Brett Mayfield
  • Rand Meyer
  • Emia Musabegovic
  • Kristy Park
  • Mary Tracy
  • Stephanie Xu
  • Jasmine Yu

Department Honors for Undergraduate Theses

  • Sarah Dagher
    Masters of Disguise: The Negotiation of Women’s Social Roles as a Survival Mechanism in Venezuela
  • Madison Daum
    Dynamics of  Collective Attention on Netflix

Donald H. and Carolyn E. Ecroyd Fellowship

Awarded to assist graduate students by supporting the completion of their doctoral dissertations; established in 1993 to honor the late Caroline D. Ecroyd, a School of Communication alumna who was unable to complete her PhD in communication at Northwestern because of lack of funds and who with her husband spent many years as a university faculty member in speech

  • Maitraye Das
  • Priyanka Nanayakkara

Irving J. and Laura Lee Fellowship

Established in 1987 by David Lee to honor and perpetuate the memory of his parents, who met at Northwestern as students and both became School of Communication faculty members — Irving specializing in public speaking and semantics, Laura in children’s language development and disorders

  • Alexandra Gonzalez

Graduate Dissertation Awards

Presented to recognize dissertations of exceptional quality in three areas: rhetoric, mass communication, and interpersonal communication

  • Gabriela Garcia
  • Diego Gomez-Zara
  • Chelsea Peterson-Salahuddin

Mary Peterson Gilbert Prize

Awarded annually for excellence in speaking; established in 1955 by the husband of School of Communication alumna Mary Peterson Gilbert, who was praised by school founder Robert Cumnock as one of the most gifted readers in the country

  • Hannah Yang

George M. Sargent Awards

Presented to the first-year, second-year, junior, and senior students with the best records in their regular course of study; honors the memory of George M. Sargent, a member of the class of 1915


  • Irene Cheon
  • Kayla Cohen


  • Julia McMurray
  • Rahma  Ndao


  • Hannah Hachamovitch
  • Sam Jenkins


  • Grace Koplin
  • Sherry Xue